Books like the Twilight Saga

If you are like me, the Twilight Saga was an epic read that literally stuck with you forever. But now we’re stuck in the dilemma of what to read now? What was it about this collection of books that made it so epic? So hard to put down? I know I can re-read these books yearly and love them just as much as when they were first released. So let’s dig into the tropes and what makes this series so special.

First off, who doesn’t love a paranormal romance? The author hit all the fans with this bestselling vampire romance that gave you all the feels. Add in the love triangle, the supernatural aspects, and of course the conflicts of forbidden love and you are definitely on the right path for an epic read. Yes, I am an avid Twilight fan but I haven’t found many books that interested me that same way or were as captivating.

So, I decided to go down the rabbit hole and look up lists other bloggers have made on books similar to Twilight. I then made it my mission to read those books and see what I thought. Here are a few of the posts I stumbled upon in my searches: She Reads, Owlcation, and Just Like Gilmore Girls. Each had a few suggestions that seemed interesting and worth a try.

I began my journey with this list in mind and also a list I found on Goodreads. I won’t be putting this in order of how I read but instead just listing them and letting you decide which you are interested in.

  1. Shadow Touched and Curse Touched by Becky Moynihan

A Touch of Vampire Series isn’t finished yet; however, from what I have read in the first two books I’m hooked. This book series has many of the same tropes as the Twilight Saga from the paranormal, supernatural, and even the forbidden love. This book series is dealing with a girl who knew nothing of the paranormal world only to fall in love with a vampire prince who originally was supposed to capture her but ended up falling for her. This book is full of storyline twists and turns as Kenna and Lochlan navigate their forbidden love and the prophecy about her being a rare witch. This is a must-read series if you love a high school new student paranormal romance with plenty of action and adventure to keep you guessing. You can check out my review of Shadow Touched and Curse Touched as we patiently await the third book in this series.

2. Fallen by Lauren Kate

This book is the first in the Fallen Series. This book has some of the similar tropes that Twilight offered like the supernatural and the new girl in school as well as the paranormal. This book deals with Fallen Angels instead of vampires. Luce is a new girl at school but a reincarnation of the lost love of Daniel. She is attending the Sword and Cross Reform School and doesn’t know, but suspects, about the supernatural. Eventually, it all comes out and this book then moves on to others in this series with more epic battles between good fallen angels and bad ones. This book does include the love triangle trope and lots of dark themes. I didn’t find this book as interesting and wasn’t interested in reading more in this series. But you can check out my review of Fallen and maybe decide on this one for yourself.

3. Afterlife Saga by Stephanie Hudson

The Afterlife Saga by Stephanie Hudson is a twelve-book series that delves more into Fallen Angels, Demons, Hybrids, and more paranormal creatures. This saga is very long and each book is packed with insane action, adventure, and dark themes. I find this saga to be similar to Twilight in that again we are dealing with a new girl in this town who is a special human to the Hybrid King. The first book does dabble in a love triangle and definitely deals in paranormal and supernatural. The love isn’t forbidden but it is complicated and the main character is in college, young and human. I have enjoyed this series in its own right, but I haven’t finished it at this time. Kiera gets into a lot of trouble and Dominic Draven must save his special girl. These books also get very steamy. You can check out my review of Afterlife and The Two Kings by Stephanie Hudson.

4. Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

This is the first book in the six-book Vampire Academy Series. This book series is definitely a different take on vampires as it is not just one type. Instead, the author has two vampires against each other and then has the dhampir children being the hunted vampires’ guardians. Yes, she calls them by different names than vampires. Lissa and Andre two female characters with a special bond are the main focus of the storyline. This story does contain similar tropes to Twilight with the paranormal characters, supernatural abilities, and slow-burn romance. However, I just couldn’t get into this series. It didn’t contain that epic vampire romance I was looking for to satisfy my Twilight binge reading.

5. Evermore: The Immortals by Alyssa Noel

I have to admit the storyline for this really drew me in I was excited to see what this recommend series was about. Evermore is the first book in the Immortals Series. This book hits some of the tropes from Twilight like the new girl at school, the forbidden love between a human and immortal, and even the supernatural abilities. Unfortunately, the story of Ever and Damen while interesting in the first book lost me in the second. It was too much drama for my liking and too much fantasy as well. Damen, being an immortal, was similar to the vampire in his need for a special drink. Ever, having survived death, had some supernatural abilities that were intriguing. The two of them together was just too much, especially with all the odds against them. You can check out my review of Evermore and Blue Moon by Alyssa Noel.

6. Crave Series by Tracy Wolff

The Crave Series by Tracy Wolff was another suggested reading for fans of Twilight. This series has some similar tropes and paranormal characters. She definitely added her spin on this paranormal fiction. This book includes tropes like paranormal high school, supernatural abilities, the angsty male character who doesn’t want to be in love with the fated mate female, a love triangle between brothers, and a human turned paranormal character. Although that is where these similarities end, this series is epic in its own right. It also includes a heroine that doesn’t shy away from tons of action and adventure. Grace, Jaxson, and even Hudson become your new favorite characters as you read through this high school paranormal fiction. This series isn’t finished yet with the fourth book coming in 2022. This is a must-read for me and one I will enjoy reading again. I have reviewed the books available in the Crave series so far and look forward to reading more of it as it releases.

7. The Marked Series by Bianca Scardoni

Inception is the first book in The Marked Series which includes seven books. This series absolutely includes similar tropes to Twilight, however, the author does add her own unique takes on them as well. The first two books, that I have read contain vampire-like characters but they call themselves revenants. These books do contain high school paranormal romance, supernatural abilities, and a slow burn romance. The main female character is saved a lot, so it might be too much drama for you, but she does get stronger over time. You also get a look at reapers, slayers, and hunters and it includes witches and wolf shifters. I find this series to include more action and adventure than Twilight and I am still in the process of reading it. You can check out my review of Inception and Invidious.

8. The Black Dagger Brotherhood by J.R Ward

The Black Dagger Brotherhood Series is one of those on the recommended lists. So I figured I would give it a try. Unfortunately, I didn’t get very far. There was a glossary of terms that put me off completely and lent itself far more to worldbuilding a fantasy epic than the start of a paranormal series. They spent a lot of time reinventing the wheel, which really didn’t work for me. I do love the unique aspects of this series but just wasn’t ready to dive into a twenty-book series. There is a lot of talk of this series that is somewhat dystopian and includes things like different worlds and different characters from book to book. Trope-wise, in comparison to Twilight I feel like this is more fantasy with a new twist on vampires and supernatural. This one you will have to check out for yourself. I may read it eventually but not at this time.

There are more on those lists that I’m dying to read and will update as I work my way through them. Got any suggestions?

Published by Tanya

I am an avid reader who loves amazing romance, fantasy, or paranormal books. I spend as many hours reading as I can and love to find a fantastic story,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: